Official Texas Is The Reason Merch



This new expanded version of TEXAS IS THE REASON’s groundbreaking album includes the last two songs the band wrote before splitting up, but had never released. These two songs, which fit right into the band’s canon, were finally put to tape this year with Do You Know Who You Are? producer J. Robbins — making this, for the first time, a complete career retrospective.
They came from some of the most popular, if not polarizing hardcore bands of the early '90s (SHELTER, 108, RESSURECTION), but by the time TEXAS IS THE REASON formed in 1994, a new aesthetic crystallized almost instantly and reduced its members' previous efforts to history. Indeed, it was only a year later, when Revelation Records released the band's self-titled EP — their name derived from a lyric in the MISFITS song "Bullet" — that TEXAS IS THE REASON were already headlining their own tours in America and well on their way to defining a new moment in post-punk. In April of 1996, the band reinforced that initial success with their first and only album, produced by JAWBOX's J. Robbins and named after the last words that John Lennon was alleged to have heard: Do You Know Who You Are? In the years since, Spin, Alternative Press, and Paste would all go on to call Do You Know Who You Are? an essential '90s album. Unfortunately, after a year of heavy promotion and touring for the record, inner-band tension came to a head, and TEXAS IS THE REASON officially split in 1997. Its members would go on to form JETS TO BRAZIL, NEW END ORIGINAL, and ATLANTIC/PACIFIC. Since then, the band had only reunited once — for two sold-out New York City shows in 2006 — but their presence has barely waned: Newer generations of bands like SPITALFIELD, INTO IT. OVER IT., and TRANSIT have covered TEXAS IS THE REASON songs over the years, and even vets like THURSDAY, TAKING BACK SUNDAY, and ARMOR FOR SLEEP have all publicly cited their influence. So after agreeing to headline the opening night of Revelation Records' 25th Anniversary festival in New York City earlier this year (and once again promptly selling it out), the band decided it was time to tie up the longest of loose ends: In early 2013, TEXAS IS THE REASON will begin a limited and exclusive North American run to support the release of a remastered discography collection featuring the band’s entire recorded output, as well as two freshly recorded, never-before-released songs — their final songs ever. Do You Know Who You Are?: The Complete Collection will be released by Revelation Records in February.


1. Johnny On The Spot
2. The Magic Bullet Theory
3. Nickel Wound
4. There’s No Way I Can Talk Myself Out Of This One Tonight (The Drinking Song)
5. Something To Forget (Version II)
6. Do You Know Who You Are?
7. Back And To The Left
8. The Day’s Refrain
9. A Jack With One Eye
10. Every Little Girl’s Dream*
11. When Rock ‘N’ Roll Was Just A Baby*
12. Blue Boy
13. Something To Forget (Version I)
14. If It’s Here When We Get Back It’s Ours
15. Dressing Cold
16. Antique
* Previously unreleased tracks
Official Merch