Government Issue - YOU (CLEAR VINYL) Vinyl LP

Official Government Issue Merch



A welcome re-issue of Government Issue's sixth studio album 'You'.  Originally released in 1987 on Giant Records and hot off the heels of the previous year's self-titled album, 'You' was a turning point that saw the band moving in a more mature, melodic direction.  Now, some 35 years later, 'You' is considered one of the scene's best albums - a game-changer that paved the way for a style that many bands would copy in subsequent years."G.I. headed into more melodic territory on its 1986 self-titled album, but You bears the undeniable influence of new bassist J. Robbins (later of Jawbox, Burning Airlines, and Channels) and drummer Peter Moffett (later of Wool and Burning Airlines). The duo's melodic sensibilities and playing chops greatly improved the group's overall sound, and G.I. came together in a way that made its final lineup—after many incarnations—its best by far. You also shows an ambition its predecessors lacked: "Young Love" has an elaborate coda with backward guitar-playing, and "Wishing" somehow pulls off incorporating electric sitar. You's overall cohesion and stylistic complexity is more advanced than G.I. generally gets credited for." - Kyle Ryan, AV Club


1. Jaded Eyes 3:50
2. Beyond 2:14
3. Man In A Trap 3:10
4. Caring Line 3:34
5. Young Love 4:22
Total side length – 17:10

6. Where You Live 3:18
7. Wishing 2:16
8. Public Stage 3:28
9. World, You And I 2:19
10. Hole In The Scene 4:05
11. Melancholy Miss 2:06
Total side length – 17:32